Ten more institutions join National Redress Scheme

Federal Minister for Social Services Paul Fletcher announced today that ten more institutions have joined the National Redress Scheme. The following announcement is a section of a published media release, which can be found in full here

The new National Redress Scheme entrants are:

  • Anglicare North Coast
  • Anglican Diocese of Bendigo
  • Anglican Diocese of the Northern Territory
  • Camberwell Grammar School (Anglican)
  • Geelong Grammar School
  • Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart (Catholic)
  • St John’s Anglican College and The Springfield Anglican College (FSAC Ltd)
  • The Personal Ordinariate of Our Lady of the Southern Cross (Catholic)
  • The Presbyterian Church of Queensland
  • The William Branwhite Clarke College Council (Anglican).

Survivors can make applications for redress at any time, however applications can only be processed once the relevant institution has completed the necessary steps to join the Scheme.

The Australian Government established the National Redress Scheme to acknowledge and support people who experienced child sexual abuse in institutions.

Redress can include access to counselling services, a direct personal response from the responsible institution for people who want it, and a redress payment.

For more information, including a searchable list of the local sites that have joined the Scheme visit www.nationalredress.gov.au/institutions.